Christian Encounters: John Bunyan

When one thinks of John Bunyan, as a Christian, the first thing to pop into the person’s mind is his famous book “The Pilgrim’s Progress.” In the book, John Bunyan, by Kevin Belmonte, part of the series of Christian Encounters, we see how the man who wrote such a masterpiece came to writing it.

Kevin Belmonte’s biography of John Bunyan let’s us see the man behind the book, and how he was influenced by the things of his past and present from chapbooks to the years he was a soldier. Despite, containing a lot of information the book itself is fairly short only being around 169 pages front-to-back. It is an excellent source, and a wonderful read.

I would suggest this book to others though, I do feel the price of the book is a tad bit high. I enjoyed delving into the biography, gaining from it things I never new. I think one of the most interesting facts I learned from it were that of chapbooks which Bunyan would have had the chance to read as a child. Chapbooks refer to “many kinds of printed material-pamphlets, political and religious tracts, nursery rhymes, poetry, folk tales, and almanacs.”

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~ by zealfire on March 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
