I Am Hutterite

Before start I do have to admit this review should have been done a long time ago, but I have been too busy until now to be able to type it.

The book starts by telling the story of how her family began and her parents getting married prior to having her. Mixed in are the traditions of the Hutterites and an intimate look into their society.

Her parents moved their family off the Hutterite colony and were thrown into the modern world of the time. Thrown into a completely different culture Mary-Ann had to begin to redefine who she was and the way she had once lived.

I found it to be a very interesting read;  having never heard of the Hutterites prior to obtaining a copy of  the book. I enjoyed reading about the traditions and way of life in which the Hutterite community lived and being taken into their world. One of my favorite parts is that throughout the text is scattered with the Hutterite German words and the meanings of them. The only issue I had with the book is that I wish it would have talked a bit more about the transition fr

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

~ by zealfire on December 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
