Jesus Calling Devotional Bible

Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace In His Presence devotional Sarah Young shares with the reader her thoughts upon segments of Scripture which she feels God has spoken to her an has enabled her to share with the reader. These segments are written in first person with her as the speaker talking to the reader directly. The notes throughout the Bible are coupled with several passages through Scripture to read with each. The notes and devotions are well written and inspirational.

This was the first type of devotional I have reviewed and have actually read to a degree, therefore I was not used to reading the format of a person speaking directly to me as the reader and took quite a bit to get used to. I enjoyed reading the devotions as well as the fact that it was coupled with the NKJV translation which is one of my preferred translations of the Bible to read. I would have found it more reasonable if it was not assumed that the reader knows of Sarah Young and who she is.  The introduction is of her telling the reader why she has written the pieces, but I did not know who she was to start and had to research further as to who she is. If bought online though it will state briefly that she is a missionary, and provides a mini excerpt about her.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~ by zealfire on June 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
